The Writer’s Conference

Standard

Well, too late to back down now! I have registered for the Willamette Writers Conference, which is coming up the first weekend in August. I am stoked, so nervous and just plain excited to be following through on this goal. It doesn’t matter what happens at the conference…the big step for me was signing up in the first place!

pamphlet

That being said, I have signed up for a couple of pitches and I plan to pitch my novel at the conference. Again, the biggest factor in this whole scenario for me is conquering fear. I have always been terrified of sharing my work, of having someone belittle my efforts and say to my face, “Hmm well, this story basically sucks. And you suck! Who do you think you are?!”

Does this happen to you, as well? The more times you replay the vignette in your head, the more monstrous it becomes. Before you realize it, the nightmare has descended into you crawling under a table to hide as the seven-foot-tall literary agent smacks you repeatedly with your manuscript and a gawking crowd gathers around to watch the fun.

Pretty sure this won’t happen. Pretty sure.

Anyway, if you want to know more about the conference, you can look up details here. What was your first conference like? Have you pitched before and how was the experience? Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

2 thoughts on “The Writer’s Conference

Leave a Reply

