April Reading

Standard

Dad beat me out this month on reading. Badly. In case you didn’t know, my dad and I are doing a reading contest throughout 2014 which will culminate in a giant page-counting showdown in December where the stakes are high, the books are big, and a trophy of pure gold will be awarded to one lucky victor.

nakedtree

However, in the meantime, we are comparing page numbers each month to see how we’re faring. This month, I ran home with my tail tucked between my legs. I’ve been reading for sure, but not as consistently as I could have been. And you know what? I notice a direct correlation between how well my writing flows and how much I’m reading. When I’m not reading as much, or its more sporadic, my writing suffers. No exceptions.

Anyway, my dad is very encouraging. He doesn’t gloat like me when he wins. He just smiles and says, “May is a new month!”

It is a new month, and with it, the deadline for finishing my novel revisions is looming large. The closer I get to sharing it with my beta readers, the more insecure I become. This is a stupid part, I hear myself saying. Why did I write it like that? Ridiculous.

It may be ridiculous, but you know what’s more ridiculous?

Quitting.

Regardless of where this novel goes (or doesn’t go), I will not shut it up in a drawer and give up. It’s not about whether it sells or not. It’s about proving to myself that I really do have what it takes to write this baby, and the gumption to share it with others. It’s about conquering fear.

By the way, two great resources on fear:

Jeff Goins just produced a great podcast episode on facing fear, and you can find it here.

If you want to read a fantastic book, Jon Acuff’s Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average and Do Work that Matters is terrific. Acuff is inspiring and hilarious.

How’s your writing week going? What are you doing to face your own doubts and fears?

Leave a Reply

