The Marriage of Inspiration and Hard Work

Standard

Three good resources I wanted to shoot your way on the theme of discipline and inspiration. These two go hand-in-hand for many writers, myself included. Often times, we don’t want to get disciplined until inspiration comes, but often, the inspiration springs from the discipline.

Below is me getting inspired listening to the sounds of nature near my house a few days ago. Not really. My roommate had to explain to me what this was, as I thought it was an old-school gramophone on a pole.

hearingtrumpet

Anyway, below are a couple blog posts and a video I have found useful in my own creative process. I hope they’re helpful for you, as well.

This was a great guest post by Anthony St Clair on thecreativepenn.com (a fantastic blog, by the way) that talks about forgetting the muse and finding your willpower.

On thewritepractice.com (also another epic writing blog with many valuable contributors), Emily Wenstrom banishes our slavery to inspiration with three great tips: work at the same time consistently, keep an idea log, and create rituals.

Finally, I saw the wonderful Ted talk by Elizabeth Gilbert (yes, yes, author of Eat, Pray, Love) called “Your Elusive Creative Genius.” If you haven’t watched it yet, you can do it here. Gilbert is funny, but she also digs into that whole idea of pushing through fear and showing up day after day, regardless of whether the muse comes or not.

That’s it for today!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Marriage of Inspiration and Hard Work

Leave a Reply

