February Reading

Standard

Well, Dad and I are at it again. We compared notes at the end of February, and this time, I’m proud to say, I was the victor! In case you missed last month, my dad and I are doing a 2014 reading contest. At the end of every month, we compare page counts and see who finished out the month ahead. Technically, I think he’s still ahead of me because of how much he read in January, but I’m choosing to ignore that little technicality for now.

Are you making time for reading as a writer? This is so critical. It is a daily challenge for me, because especially at night, when I’m tired and I’ve had a long day, it’s just easier to sit in front of a screen and zone out. But this is poison to us as writers. Hear the words of writer Lauren B. Davis:

“Read. READ EVERYTHING. I can’t tell you how many students show up in my classes wanting to be writers, but when I ask them what they read, tell me “Oh, I don’t read much.” Good Lord. Then you aren’t a writer.”

Ouchie. If you want to read the full interview, go here to Advice to Writers (which is a great website from Jon Winokur, by the way).

So, how do you make yourself read, even when you don’t feel like it? How has reading helped refuel your “creative juices” for writing? Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments.

2 thoughts on “February Reading

  1. Dad

    OK, so you smoked me in February. I really think we are neck and neck after February. I am trying to get back on track during March. Can’t wait until the end of March to check our progress.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

