1,200 Words a Day, 6 Days a Week

Standard

Okay, it’s official. This is a pep talk post. When you’re in the trenches as a writer, you have to remind yourself that you are making progress, even if it feels like you’re perpetually on a stationary bike.

keyboard

Every morning, I get up, go to the café and write 1,200 words before going to work. Sometimes, I can write more on Saturday mornings because I have a more time, but it depends. Nonetheless, 1,200 words a day, 6 days a week. Awesome. Except some days, I just feel like I can’t see light at the end of the tunnel. It’s a never-ending routine, day after day, week after week. Words, words and more words.

I know I am doing the right stuff, it’s just not always exciting or glamorous. Sometimes, it’s just work. Plain, boring, plant-your-butt-in-the-chair-and-bang-it-out work. Still, these three challenges bring me encouragement, and I hope they do the same for you.

1) Just keep going. I know it’s obvious, but it needs to be said. Keep your head down and just keep plowing forward. It was Thomas Edison that said “Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration.” So keep perspiring!

2) Look back. Glance behind and see how far you’ve come. If you’re writing regularly, you have probably accomplished more than you think. Let it soak in and really encourage you.

3) Look forward. What’s your next finish line, even if it’s a small one? This draft? This chapter? This page? I keep visualizing printing out the rough draft of my current novel, holding the glorious weightiness of it’s 200+ pages in my hands. Golly, what a feeling (until I have to start revising. Eek!)

Anything worth doing will never be easy, and guys, writing is so worth doing. I’m not a quitter, and I bet you’re not either.  Let’s keep after it.

What do you do to keep moving forward when writing gets difficult or boring? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

