January Reading

Standard

7451_10201267819444245_724095493_n - Copy

This is my Dad and I. At the end of this last year, I had a brilliant idea to start a reading contest with him for 2014. The rules would be simple: we keep track by the number of pages read, and we check each other’s progress at the end of each month. Loser at the end of the year buys the other breakfast. Or an Amazon gift card. Or a trip to Disneyland (just kidding, Daddy). He loves to read, as evidenced by his study, which is full of books, floor to ceiling. Needless to say, I was sure I had a worthy opponent.

I was right. My dad kicked my butt in the month of January, reading double the amount of pages I did. Ouch. Well, look out February, because I’ve been schooled and now I have something to prove.

Stephen King spoke true when he said, “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” When there is so much writing to do, it can be easy to think that reading is optional, a nice leisure activity. However, reading is like putting gas in your car. Without it, you are going nowhere.

So, I’m reading. Join me?

5 thoughts on “January Reading

Leave a Reply

