The 100-Page Dash

Standard

Yesterday, I crossed the 100 page marker in my novel rough draft. Am I excited? Why of course. So excited I did a happy dance around the café for thirty seconds before sitting down to write again. Not really. I don’t dance in cafes.

But seriously, this was not “the moment” I was expecting it to be. Instead of being super happy, I got overwhelmed with how much of the story is left to be put on paper, and how much work revision is going to be. I have a list of changes a mile long and 100 pages into a rough draft, frankly, is barely a dent in all that must be done before this beast can see the light of day.

photo

Now, here’s the good news: I haven’t lost the passion for the story. I love where it’s going. I love these characters. And that, my friends, is great news, because it’s easy to get discouraged at this point in the game.

If you find yourself getting discouraged or bored in the midst of your draft, here’s a few things I’ve found helpful:

1) Stop worrying about the mistakes. Make the list and remind yourself you’re coming to fix those mistakes later.

2) Write the scenes you want to write. Skip to the ones that get you excited, then come back to write those “other ones” when your head is in a better space.

3) Be Disciplined. Don’t just write when you feel like it, because you know what? You never will. Write on a schedule and stick to it. The words will come again, and the joy will come again. Promise.

We’re in the trenches together. Keep after it!

Betsy

Leave a Reply

